Sometimes You Trip Over a Chinese Restaurant

March 19, 2010 Comments Off on Sometimes You Trip Over a Chinese Restaurant

Today I failed miserably at eating sustainably AND local, I don’t think there was a single thing I  put in my mouth today that I made or probably even came from around  the area. But you know what  that’s ok, part of  changing any part of a routine is working it in to your life.  I have only been on the path to sustainable eating for about three weeks, so at this point I am far from perfect. In part of the step by step approach you sometimes have to fail miserably , if only so you realize what moves you away from your goal. The easiest thing to do is just ignore it, in this case anyway in general life ignorance is not so good. When I decided to start eating like this I  promised myself that I wouldn’t feel guilty for the things I was not doing, I would be happy and proud to make the progress I was making. This works for me because I am a worrier, so in order to  not worry about things that are out of my control, I just have to have a fuck it mentality. There are so many parts of the  current food system, that it is expansive. If you go to  restaurant,most of your food probably has a hidden past.  Cutting everything out can be drastic and overwhelming, like  going from  not working out to running 5 miles, its hard and you hurt really bad and don’t want to do it anymore. For example, I love dairy products, but  there are not a ton of resources around my area  to eat sustainable dairy , so right I am ignoring anything beyond organic.In order for you to sustain sustaining you just have to keep on trucking, keep on making little changes. I think it also helps to have other people excited about what you are into.  I am fortunate to have family and friends listen to me rant about gardening or food(they are just happy to not hear my ranting about other social issues) and the great part about being into food, is everyone eats, its the biggest common ground besides taxes and death. So when you feel overwhelmed step away from the computer that you just googled sustainable fish on and just buy your groceries. In fact I’m pretty sure this advice works  in any situation, just replace the word food with your current life crisis.

Tagged: , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sometimes You Trip Over a Chinese Restaurant at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

