Cut Out the Middle Man: Make Your Own Granola

May 20, 2010 § 2 Comments

I had already started  trying to eat local  when I  watched  No Impact Man, and I have to admit I didn’t really like it. Though admirable  no impact man came  across as a little bit over bearing and  too high and mighty for my taste. It did however put a little guilt seed in my brain about all the packaging we get on our food. So months later  after I had eaten by last dissatisfied bowl of Kashi go lean,  I decided what the hell I don’t need some big cereal hocking over sweetened crap to me, I can make my own. ok so it also happened to be the day that I found a super easy recipe from The Localist. I now get to avoid  lots of packaging and avoid unnecessary ingredients. Health, Local , Yummy.

I took the recipe off of the localist and changed just a little bit .

INGREDIENTS

  • six cups  rolled grains
  • 1/2 c.  crushed Walnuts
  • 1/2 c. crushed unsalted sunflowers
  • 1 cup Flax seed
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup canola
  • 3/4 cup honey

DIRECTIONS

  • Heat oven to 300 F.
  • Sit out two cookie sheets, you may want to coat them if they are non stick..
  • In a large bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients.
  • Add the oil and the sweetener and mix thoroughly until all the dry ingredients are coated.
  • Spread out on the jelly roll pans and bake for around 20-30 minutes.  You want the granola to be lightly toasted but not burned.
  • Remove from oven, you can get them off the sheet now or later, but now is usually easier..
  • Allow to cool.

Hints:

-Use  good tasting honey , because the flavor really comes out in the finished product.

– Experiment with different levels of ingredients, BUT not the oil, that only ends badly.

-Add/substitute any of the nuts and be sure to try your mix with raisins or other dried fruit.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Cut Out the Middle Man: Make Your Own Granola

  • Jen says:

    So glad you liked my recipe! The best thing is that it’s way less expensive than buying granola, even though I’m using all local and/or organic ingredients.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cut Out the Middle Man: Make Your Own Granola at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

