Micro Celery!!

June 5, 2010 § 1 Comment

Eating local makes you  realize pretty fast that you and pretty much everybody else are pretty food spoiled. Meaning that we are used to getting whatever we want(food wise) at the blink of an eye. it takes a LOT of getting used too, and I am still struggling with finding certain things that I need. I have recently gotten into soups, which means  I need lots of carrots, celery and onions.  Carrots and onions i can find either local or as as a substitute organic. However I could never find celery, which is pretty key to making the backbone of any soup.  I couldn’t even find ant organic celery, but as luck would have it I discovered something  way cooler than  normal celery, micro celery!

What exactly is microcelery?  Well its exactly what is sounds like a mini plant. It grows an inch or so they  cut it off at that point. I was a little bit hesitant  at first, but it is just as strong a full stock celery(if not stronger.) It also taste pretty much the same, but be sure not to use too much, i got a little overzealous with it and it made my soup very celery-ey

The best part is that this micro celery is much easier to find organic. I got mine from Hardy Farms, right here in Keswick Virginia.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Micro Celery!!

  • Alyson says:

    Looks like parsley- I just harvested kohlarabi from my garden what fun- Now the plan is how to fix it. Are there seds to micro celery to do as bean sprouts for a salad Could be fun

What’s this?

You are currently reading Micro Celery!! at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

