Eating Local is Making Me Fat

June 22, 2010 § 1 Comment

Ok not really… I am making me fat. I have been dieting since before I can remember ( a social commentary in itself) but when I started  eating local I had the grandiose  vision of both clearing my guilty conscience and eating a bevy of  fresh fruits and vegetables. No kidding , I even have a draft in my post folder about how eating local is super healthy and makes you skinny(which I still think is true if you aren’t me.)  However what has happened in actuality is my conscience is much better but I have increasingly become reliant on grains, since I only buy produce from the farmer’s market or local farmers. Now don’t get me wrong I will never again subscribe the carbs are bad thing, the problem is that vegetables are good and I should be eating more of them. The problem, I have found is that buying produce in season has made it really hard to  substitute what I would usually eat for snack vegetables, things like fruit(especially tropical,) cucumbers, and tomatoes. So instead of eating a fruit or vegetables I am now eating yogurt, granola and crackers for breakfast and snacks, as most the vegetables  I buy end up in my dinner instead of any other meal, and even then we have so many good options for local grains  here in Cville. Lunch has been a problem as well, because if I  don’t have left over dinner vegetables I will usually rely on eating a sandwich.   So that’s how I arrived at the I eat local but I don’t actually eat THAT many vegetables and am now stonewalling myself getting down to a healthy weight… But seriously beyond weight loss eating enough fruits and vegetables just helps your body feel nourished and full of vitamins. So  I am now in the process of  trying to incorporate more vegetables, especially tasty ones into my daytime life, you know the one where I sit at a desk all day. So far  I am crossing my fingers and hopping on one leg that the summer produce season will  make my life SO much easier as there will be a wider availability of, I  am also thinking about pickling but I have this nightmare in my head of mason jars exploding and me being cut to be bits, not rational I know but hey at least its still on my to do list. I am hoping that if I scrub the inter-webs I can find some good preservation techniques, salad dressing recipes, and probably make more naturally delicious meals that don’t rely on cheese for taste…..but that hard because we all know cheese is delicious. So how do you all keep veggies in your mouth  without  it getting old? I mean I need some help here  because bread and cheese is always going to  me put my happy tastey face on.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Eating Local is Making Me Fat

  • Alyson says:

    eatting local is great,but I have tohave those veggies- FYI kroger has pinnapples and peaches on sale great combo especially frozen.
    love ya

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eating Local is Making Me Fat at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

