Cost Comparison: Cucumbers

June 24, 2010 § 2 Comments

I haven’t done a cost comparison in a while, because I have been busy gardening! ok and vacation too. Everyone loves a cucumber , right?  Well all the cool kids love cucumbers, and if you don’t love cucumber you’ve got to love pickles …right?  You really can’t be my friend if you don’t like pickles, so there! Anyway as with all cost comparison  post I want to know if it is actually cost effective for most people to eat local food. Just a reminder not all local food is certified organic or organic, but much of it is sustainable and it can’t hurt the local/regional economy.

Cucumbers at Harris Teeter(Chain Grocery Store): 89. cents a piece

Cucumbers at Local Grocer: $1.19 a piece

Cucumbers from the farmers market: 3 for a $1

Fun Facts:

Many of the cucumbers in the stores are the same type of cucumber, so if you get a chance to go to the farmers market experiment with buying all types of cucumbers, because they are lots! I started mine late so I had to take what I could get with my cucumbers I’m growing. Which brings me to my second fin fact.

Cucumbers are easy to grow and you can do it with a pot and a trellis, if you are really pressed for space you can grow a smaller heirloom variety.

Also, cucumber you buy from local farmers don’t have that uber gross wax coating(made from corn probably) because they aren’t shipped from really far away so they don’t need it.

So get you cucumber on, or cut some for your eyes when you get too worked this summer!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Cost Comparison: Cucumbers

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cost Comparison: Cucumbers at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

