Mad Dash Preservation

July 13, 2010 § 1 Comment

So it’s the night before I leave on a short vacation and what am I doing? Not packing that’s what. I am running around the kitchen trying to preserve all our left over produce. See the problem with  eating fresh and eating local is that you have an abundance of fresh food in your fridge when you go on vacation. Not really the worst problem to have except when it could all rot, and who really wants to loose good produce at peak season(it was a cold kaley spring.) So hence why I am running around my kitchen trying to make sure nothing rots while I am away. I haven’t learned to can or pickle yet, although  I have promised myself over and over again that it’s going to happen soon so I can preserve all my summer bounty. SO in a pinch, the freezer is my best friend, it’s practically the gateway drug to canning and  it’s super convenient and easy. If you have a huge freezer it’s not a bad way to go, I don’t but I would rather save my produce and I prefer to preserve my fruit by freezing. If this wasn’t last weeks produce it would probably be ok in the “green bags” I have been using which suck the plant ripening hormones out and slow your fruit from ripening,  like birth control for your  food creepy right?

This all took me about 30 or 40 minutes, not bad for no rotten food.

My peaches I washed, pitted , cut them up, threw them in a bag and put them in the freezer AND done. These are great for  smoothies and I’m pretty sure you could still thaw them out and can them, but they may loose flavor that way. Tip Make sure to suck out the air and double bag things to prevent freezer burn.

I had one gorgeous bunch of kale, that I preserved by blanching and freezing. I have a more extensive post of that here.

I finally got some beautiful tomatoes from the market, and what happens, I don’t get to eat them 😦 Any way I  decided to blanch those too. It’s pretty simple you follow the same basic process as kale. Wash the tomato, put it in boiling water for a minute or too (watch so you can take them out when the skins crack) Then immediately put it in ice water, take it out peel the skin off , cut and throw in a bag. These won’t be good for salads, but are great for stews or sauces.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Mad Dash Preservation

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mad Dash Preservation at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

