Kind of Garden Lust Friday and Why Cookbooks Are Pissing Me Off

October 15, 2010 § 1 Comment

Ok so maybe you are one of those people that doesn’t think that industrialized food systems aren’t so insipid. That they haven’t seeped into every little corner of our lives. I have one thing to say to you, have you opened a cook book lately? I have . I have been trying to make myself happier sane by cooking. I scour for recipes everywhere, I frantically subscribe to food bloggers, I flip through pages of my cookbook, just so I can create something new.I can’t cook on my own everything comes out tasting the same or like salt, I am not entirely sure how I do it. However it seems like when I turn to my handy dandy cook books I am a little let down, because t he ingredients are just sad, they have things like seasoning packs, canned soup, canned beans, and everything else processed under the sun. This is how industrial agricultural has seeped into our lives, because really you don’t need anything canned across the county with crazy preservatives in it to cook good food. I admit it makes things easier, but when the zombie apocalypse comes and we all need to hide in the mountains, where will our canned from, us that’s who. So I am in the search of good cookbooks , with delicious recipes.  I also like cookbooks with pictures, because I am simple.  I have found a few good ones below, which I don’t own but lust after. What’s your favorite food centric book or cookbook?

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life (P.S.) Animal , Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

 

Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon

Good Meat: The Complete Guide to Sourcing and Cooking Sustainable Meat Good Meat by Deborah Krasner

Earth to Table: Seasonal Recipes from an Organic FarmEarth to Table by Jeff Crump

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Kind of Garden Lust Friday and Why Cookbooks Are Pissing Me Off

  • aly says:

    great recipe- onion pie Actually with bacon- easy cut up bacon in small pieces cook until crisp, meanwhile use one cup of ritz or whatevercrackrs and add 1/4 stic mealted butter for crust in 8 inch pan- drain bacon, save a little grease and slice 2 lg inions and saute. place with bacon in bottom of crust. 4 eggs beaten,1.25 c of milk pour over onions & bacon Top with what else shredded cheese bake 350 375 for 40 min Kinda like a onion quich but yummy yum

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kind of Garden Lust Friday and Why Cookbooks Are Pissing Me Off at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

