Why Hello You Lifeless Winter You…

November 30, 2010 Comments Off on Why Hello You Lifeless Winter You…

I was wondering when I would get to this point. The one were I  have eaten swiss chard and butternut squash 3 weeks in a row and wishing I had done less procrastinating and more preserving during the season’s peak. Even though there was time that I could just about vomit from all the zucchini, it might be nice  about now.  This my friends is the dark side of variety with eating local, that sometimes you lack variety, and after being socialized for over two decades that anything can be found now in a bright and shiny grocery store, that variety can be hard to give up. Perhaps that is why I have written about it multiple times or maybe I am a whiner, you’re call. However there is alway  a saving grace or two, mine is that I am supporting my community and ultimately the world through using a more sustainable food model and my herbs which are now inside and still giving me a good yield( I had fresh basil on a homemade pizza tonight!) so at least when I think I am tired of butternut squash I can through some thyme in it to spice it up.

 

And now after my fancy lead in,  a quick Butternut Squash Au Gratin. I happen to hate butternut squash soup, which I can thank  Whole Foods for, so I  have been cooking a lot of squash casserole type dishes. The below is pretty  simple, I still managed to mess it up the first time but have faith that you are better at reading recipes than I. Also no photos, my hard drive crashed taking every photo for  the last 8 to 10 years with it( a portion on my fault is this, but I’m still blaming Mac mostly for bending to consumer will and making an inferior product.)

 

2 lbs. butternut squash
1 med. onion, finely chopped (about 1 c.)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1tsp. Fresh or Dried Thyme
2 tbsp. butter, melted
2 eggs
3/4 c. milk
3/4 c. finely shredded Swiss cheese
Peel outer skin of squash with peeler or knife. Discard skin. Halve squash lengthwise and cut into thin slices. Place slices in bowl with onion, salt, pepper and melted butter. Toss well. Spoon mixture into buttered 9-inch baking dish. Bake, covered, at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, beat eggs, milk and cheese. Remove cover from baking dish and pour cheese mixture evenly over squash. Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes.

Makes 6 servings.

 

Also if you want to be particularly gluttonous as I have been known to be you can use cream instead of milk, and use a richer cheese. My only caveat is that you may want to use them in slight smaller amounts or you will be eating grease covered squash, which will probably still be delicious, rock on my gluttonous friends, rock on.


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why Hello You Lifeless Winter You… at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

