Let’s Talk about Mint Jelly

February 24, 2012 Comments Off on Let’s Talk about Mint Jelly

A brief  of tour my brain.

I was thinking about spring, which made me think about planting my front yard, which made me think about deer deterrence, which made me think about mint, which reminded me I wanted to post about  mint jelly.

I cannot think of anything more disgusting, maybe green jello, which might as well be the same thing. I will give a pass to naturally made mint jelly  and its fancy cousin (I’m looking at you mint chutney.) But the processed in a jar food coloring dye based food is just inedible.I reserve eating things that color  for once a year on St. Patrick’s Day, and even then they tend to be booze or cake related.

This made me ask where did it start? A quick search of the internet let me down, but I need to know this people! Think about the boring conversations I could get out of  while simultaneously showing people up.

My Theory

Meat in short demand was often a little rancid, mint being a strong flavor hides this.

But seriously does anyone know where mint jelly originated?

Tagged: , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let’s Talk about Mint Jelly at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

