Say Cheese!

April 26, 2012 § 2 Comments

Last year for christmas I received the book nourishing traditions which put the seed in my mind about making my own cheese. However like most things in my life it wasn’t a priority and so has yet to happen. I initially used the excuse that I didn’t have access to a milk I thought would be sufficient. Virginia has very strict and some might say needlessly obtrusive restrictions on raw milk. However as it turns out you don’t actually need raw milk you just need milk that is not ultra, that means not  ultra pasteurized or ultra homogenized.  These extend shelf life of the milk , but it not so good for the cheese making. I have since found milk through a local dairy as well as a few in store varieties that could be used. I haven’t yet taken the plunge, Urban Cheesecraft  has affordable $25  cheese kits that I’m thinking about trying. Any thoughts?

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Say Cheese!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Say Cheese! at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

