Blooming Now: English Lavender, Lavandula Angustifolia, ‘Munstead’

July 20, 2013 Comments Off on Blooming Now: English Lavender, Lavandula Angustifolia, ‘Munstead’

Today we bring to a close my week long overture to Lavender. This week has  brought me one step closer to planting  rows of lavender in my vacant backyard, and the bees would be so happy!

 

I bought this English Lavender, in a bit of haste,when I thought one of my beds was a little sparse(it wasn’t), and was surprised to find little blooms popping up this week. Unlike the other two Lavender varieties I have shared this week, Munstead is compact, only growing about 1-2 ft in height and width. It has bright blooms(blooming June-August)  that attract nectar loving insects and short leaf  foliage that is highly aromatic.

munstead lavender

Lavandula Angustifolia

English Lavender

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blooming Now: English Lavender, Lavandula Angustifolia, ‘Munstead’ at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

