Cool Plant: Caracalla Bean

July 24, 2013 § 3 Comments

The Caracalla Bean, also known as snail flower, is one of the most interesting beans I think I have ever encountered. It has ordinary foliage but a beautiful snail like flower, that is quite fragrant, and is a surprising late bloomer. I discovered it last year while visiting Monticello, the home of Thomas Jefferson. While I had fully intended to plant it in my own garden this year, I never quite got around to it, but these photos are certainly making me regret that!

20130721-135459.jpg

20130721-135512.jpg

20130721-135358.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Cool Plant: Caracalla Bean

  • Wow! That is a cool plant! I’ve haven’t even heard of it! I think I will have to do a blog post about this snail flower. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  • That is beautiful! Is it easy to grow?

    • Jessica says:

      I don’t know for sure, having never grown it myself. However I believe it grows with ease in Virginia and North Carolina, and I would assume other places that have a warmer climate. It has a hardiness zone of 9-10 and will be perennial with areas with no frost. Here’s an example of how full the growth can be, from the gardens at Monticello.
      Caracalla Vine

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cool Plant: Caracalla Bean at Eat,Sleep,Garden.

meta

